What are the Penalties for a High BAC DUI in Pennsylvania?

What are the Penalties for a High BAC DUI in Pennsylvania?

Everybody knows it is both unsafe and illegal to drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Unfortunately, this does not deter everyone from doing so, and if you are someone who is currently facing a DUI charge, you are most likely seeking the legal assistance of an experienced and aggressive attorney. What’s more, the level of your blood alcohol content at the time of your arrest may greatly impact the potential consequences you may face. Please read on and reach out to our experienced Pennsylvania DUI defense attorneys to learn more about how we can help you through the legal process.

What are the consequences of a first-offense DUI in Pennsylvania?

A standard DUI in Pennsylvania means you were arrested with a BAC between .08 and .99%. If convicted, you may face the following penalties:

  • A $300 fine
  • Up to 6 months of probation
  • Mandatory enrollment and participation in the alcohol highway safety school
  • Treatment, if ordered by the court
  • An ungraded misdemeanor

What happens if I am convicted of a High BAC DUI in Pennsylvania?

If you are arrested with a BAC between .10% and .159%, you are now most likely facing a High BAC DUI charge. The penalties for a first-offense High BAC DUI charge in the state of Pennsylvania are as follows:

  • A license suspension of 12 months
  • Up to 6 months in prison, though no less than 48 hours of imprisonment
  • An ungraded misdemeanor
  • Up to a $5,000 fine, though no less than a $500 fine
  • Treatment, if ordered by the court
  • Mandatory enrollment and participation in the alcohol highway safety school

What is a “Highest BAC” DUI?

Individuals who have a BAC of higher than .16% at the time of their arrest will face a “highest BAC” DUI charge. If you find yourself in this situation, you need to retain the legal assistance of an experienced attorney as soon as you can. Here are some of the consequences you may face:

  • A license suspension of 12 months
  • Between 72 hours and 6 months in prison
  • A fine between $1,000 and $5,000
  • An ungraded misdemeanor
  • Mandatory enrollment and participation in the alcohol highway safety school
  • Treatment, if ordered by the court

Contact our experienced Pennsylvania firm

There is nothing worse than sustaining injuries at the hands of a negligent party. Now, you must recover physically, and you must also find a way to pay for your recovery. This is why if you or someone you know has sustained injuries due to another party’s negligence, you must contact the Law Offices of Ilkhanoff & Silverstein today. An attorney who is willing to fight for your right to a smooth recovery can make all the difference.

Read Our Latest News and Blogs