DUI Consequences in Pennsylvania

DUI Consequences in Pennsylvania

The state of Pennsylvania takes driving under the influence (DUI) charges very seriously and works hard to combat them. A DUI happens when a person’s ability to control a motor vehicle is impaired by the use of alcohol or drugs. A driver may be charged with a DUI if they are found driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above the legal limit of 0.08%. Law enforcement officers may use a Breathalyzer or an Alcotest in order to determine a driver’s BAC. Penalties for DUI charges can range from overwhelming fines to possible jail time. The charges have the ability to negatively impact the rest of an individual’s life. If you have been charged with a DWI, it is important to speak with an experienced attorney to guide you through your case.

First Offense DUI

If an individual is caught driving under the influence for the first time, they may be subject to a number of consequences. This may include:

  • A $300 fine
  • Up to 6 months of probation
  • The possibility of court-ordered treatment
  • Participation in the alcohol highway safety school
  • An ungraded misdemeanor

Second Offense DUI

A driver found driving under the influence for a second time may face more severe consequences than that of a first-timer. These penalties may include:

  • A suspended license for 1 year
  • Jail time between 5 days and 6 months
  • A fine between $300-$2,500
  • The possibility of court-ordered treatment
  • Participation in the alcohol highway safety school
  • An ungraded misdemeanor
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 year

Third Offense DUI

If an individual is pulled over for driving under the influence for the third time, they may be subject to a range of intense penalties. This may consist of:

  • A suspended license for 1 year
  • Between 10 days and 2 years in prison
  • A fine between $500-$5,000
  • The possibility of court-ordered treatment
  • A second-degree misdemeanor
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 year

High BAC

There is a separate set of extreme consequences for drivers who are found with a BAC far above the legal limit. This charge is reserved for drivers found with a BAC between 0.10% and 0.159%. Penalties for this charge may include:

  • License suspension for 1 year
  • Between 48 hours and 6 months in prison
  • A $500-$5,000 fine
  • The possibility of court-ordered treatment
  • Participation in the alcohol highway safety school
  • An ungraded misdemeanor

The most severe DUI charges are for those with an exceptionally high BAC. The “Highest BAC” is when a driver’s BAC is 0.16% or higher. Consequences for individuals with the Highest BAC may include:

  • License suspension for 1 year
  • Between 72 hours and 6 months in prison
  • A fine between $1,000-$5,000
  • The possibility of court-ordered treatment
  • Participation in the alcohol highway safety school
  • An ungraded misdemeanor

Contact our Firm

If you have been pulled over for a DWI and wish to speak with an attorney about challenging your case, contact the Law Offices of Ilkhanoff & Silverstein today.

The divorce process can be challenging, but our team at Ilkhanoff & Silverstein are dedicated to fighting for your best interests. Since 1999, our York divorce lawyers have guided our clients through this emotional and stressful time with compassionate client service and results-driven legal counsel.

 

Read Our Latest News and Blogs

  •  How to Sue a Drunk Driver in PennsylvaniaRead More
  •  How to Recover Compensation After a Pennsylvania Restaurant AccidentRead More
  •  Ilkhanoff & Silverstein News | Continued Education AnnouncementRead More
  •  Marijuana Laws in PennsylvaniaRead More