Charged With a DUI in PA this Halloween? Here’s What You Should Know.

Charged With a DUI in PA this Halloween? Here’s What You Should Know.

This Halloween, there is a very good chance you attended a costume party or otherwise celebrated the holiday with friends. Oftentimes, these celebrations involve alcohol. Of course, this is completely fine, as long as you don’t get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol. That being said, if you are someone who has been charged with a DUI this Halloween, you must continue reading and speak with a knowledgeable Pennsylvania criminal defense attorney to learn more about DUI charges and how our firm can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI?

If you are charged with a DUI, even if this is only your first offense, there is a very good chance that you will face serious ramifications that can affect your life for years to come. The penalties for a first-offense DUI in the state of Pennsylvania are:

  • Potential participation in the alcohol highway safety school
  • You may have to pay a $300 fine
  • You may face up to 6 months of probation
  • Your insurance premiums may spike due to points on your license–this is true for all DUI charges
  • You may have to participate in court-ordered treatment
  • You may receive an ungraded misdemeanor

Will I go to jail if I get a second DUI in Pennsylvania?

For a second-offense DUI in Pennsylvania, you will now be treated as a repeat offender, and as such, you will most likely face even more severe consequences as a result. The consequences of a second DUI in Pennsylvania are as follows:

  • You may receive an ungraded misdemeanor
  • You may lose your license for up to 12 months
  • You may spend up to 6 months in jail
  • You may have to pay a $2,500 fine
  • You will have to participate in the alcohol highway safety school
  • You may have to install and use the ignition interlock device for 1 year, at your own cost
  • You may have to attend court-ordered treatment

Will I lose my license forever for a third DUI in Pennsylvania?

Though you may not lose your license forever, you will lose it for at least 12 months, on top of these additional consequences:

  • You will receive a 2nd-degree misdemeanor
  • You may spend two years in jail
  • You may have to pay a $5,000 fine
  • Possible court-ordered treatment
  • The potential installation and use of the ignition interlock device for at least one year, at your own cost

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED PENNSYLVANIA FIRM

We understand that going through the legal system alone can be both confusing and highly stressful. That is why it is our job to help you through every step of the process ahead. For years, we have been helping clients throughout Lancaster County and its surrounding areas through a wide range of legal matters, including personal injury cases, criminal defense matters, family law issues, estate planning law matters, and more. If you need legal assistance, we are here to help. Contact Ilkhanoff & Silverstein today. 

Read Our Latest News and Blogs