What Happens if I Get a DUI in Pennsylvania?

What Happens if I Get a DUI in Pennsylvania?

There are few driving offenses more damaging to your record than DUIs. Though we all know that driving under the influence is both unsafe and illegal, it does not prevent everyone from doing so. That being said, we understand that people make mistakes, and receiving a DUI does not make you a bad person. Unfortunately, Pennsylvania courts will frequently seek the maximum penalties against you, which is why you will need to retain the services of an experienced Pennsylvania criminal defense attorney as soon as you possibly can. Please read on and reach out to our firm to learn more about DUIs and how we can help you through every step of the legal process going forward. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the penalties for a first offense DUI in Pennsylvania

If you are charged with a DUI, even if it is only your first offense, make no mistake–you must retain the services of an experienced Pennsylvania DUI attorney as soon as possible. You will face the following consequences:

  • A $300 fine
  • Up to 6 months of probation
  • Potential participation in the alcohol highway safety school
  • Potential treatment ordered by the court
  • An ungraded misdemeanor

What happens if I get a second DUI in Pennsylvania?

If you are charged with a second DUI in Pennsylvania, you will be treated as a repeat offender. Do not risk facing these charges alone: You will face the following penalties:

  • Mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device for 1 year
  • Potential court-ordered treatment
  • Ungraded misdemeanor
  • A 12-month license suspension
  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • A potential $2,500 fine
  • Mandatory participation in the alcohol highway safety school

Will I lose my license forever for a third or subsequent DUI in Pennsylvania

For a third Pennsylvania DUI, you risk losing your license for a very long time, as well as serious jail time. You may face the following penalties:

  • Potentially court-ordered treatment
  • 1 year of the installation and use of the ignition interlock device
  • 2nd-degree misdemeanor
  • A 12-month license suspension
  • Up to 2 years in prison
  • A potential $5,000 fine

Contact our experienced Pennsylvania firm

If you have recently been charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you will need experienced legal counsel to fight for your rights. Fortunately, you have just found that legal team at the Law Offices of Ilkhanoff & Silverstein. Do not risk facing your charges alone–our firm is here to help you through the legal process, every step of the way.

Read Our Latest News and Blogs