What Are the Penalties of a Commercial Vehicle DWI in Pennsylvania?

What Are the Penalties of a Commercial Vehicle DWI in Pennsylvania?

If you were charged with a DWI while operating a commercial vehicle, you can expect severe consequences. Contact our firm today to retain the services of a skilled Pennsylvania criminal defense attorney.

What constitutes a commercial driver DWI in Pennsylvania?

In Pennslyvania, regular motorists require a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher to be charged with a DWI in Pennsylvania. On the other hand, however, if you drive a commercial vehicle, these rules do not apply. If you are found with a BAC of .02% or higher while driving a school bus, you will receive a Tier 2 DWI. If you are driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of .04% or higher and are caught by police, you will get a Tier 2 DWI.

Do not wait to reach out to our firm to retain the services of a skilled Pennsylvania criminal defense attorney if you were charged with any of the above offenses. Our dedicated legal team is committed to ensuring that you and your future are protected.

What are the consequences of a first-offense commercial driver DWI in Pennsylvania?

The state of Pennsylvania does not take DWI charges lightly. That is why if you are charged with a first-offense commercial driver’s license DWI, you will face severe consequences. Below are some of the penalties you may face after receiving this charge:

  • A mandatory minimum of 2 days of incarceration
  • Up to 6 months of incarceration
  • You will lose your driver’s license for up to 12 months
  • You may have to pay a fine between $500 and $5,000
  • You will face a potential 1-year CDL suspension if convicted of an additional “serious traffic infraction” while operating a commercial vehicle

If you were charged, reach out to our firm today to discuss the specifics of your case and your options with a skilled criminal defense attorney.

What are the consequences of a second-offense commercial driver DWI in Pennsylvania?

You can expect the penalties for a second-offense commercial driver’s license DWI in Pennsylvania to be even harsher. They are as follows:

  • You will receive a 12-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • You will face a $5,000 fine
  • Mandatory minimum of 1 month of incarceration
  • Up to 6 months of incarceration
  • You will be permanently disqualified from having a CDL

If you are facing any of the above consequences for commercial driver’s license DWI in Pennsylvania, it is in your best interest to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who can walk you through the steps of your legal process ahead.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED PENNSYLVANIA FIRM

We understand that going through the legal system alone can be both confusing and highly stressful. That is why it is our job to help you through every step of the process ahead. For years, we have been helping clients throughout Lancaster County and its surrounding areas through a wide range of legal matters, including personal injury cases, criminal defense matters, family law issues, estate planning law matters, and more. If you need legal assistance, we are here to help. Contact Ilkhanoff & Silverstein today. 

Read Our Latest News and Blogs