What are the Consequences of a DUI in Pennsylvania?

What are the Consequences of a DUI in Pennsylvania?

A DUI is perhaps the most serious driving offense a person can be charged with. A DUI conviction can have your license revoked, impact your future job options, dictate where you can rent a home, and more. Do not let a DUI conviction change your life forever. Read on and learn more about your specific situation and hire an experienced attorney who will aggressively fight your DUI charge.

What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI in Pennsylvania?

If you are charged with a DUI for General Impairment, meaning you have a blood alcohol content, or BAC, of .08%-.099%, you will face the following penalties:

  • A $300 fine
  • Up to 6 months of probation
  • Mandatory participation in the alcohol highway safety school
  • Treatment, if ordered by the court
  • An ungraded misdemeanor

However, if you are charged with a “High BAC” tier, meaning your BAC is between 0.10%-0.159%, then you may face the following:

  • 12-month license suspension
  • Between 48 hours and 6 months in prison
  • An ungraded misdemeanor
  • A $500-$5,000 fine
  • Treatment, if ordered by the court
  • Mandatory participation in the alcohol highway safety school

If by some chance, you are facing charges of a “Highest BAC” tier, meaning you had a blood alcohol content of 0.16% or higher at the time of your arrest, the penalties will increase accordingly. They are as follows:

  • 12-month license suspension
  • Between 72 hours and 6 months in prison
  • A $1,000-$5,000 fine
  • Mandatory participation in the alcohol highway safety school
  • Treatment, if ordered by the courts
  • An ungraded misdemeanor

What are the consequences of a second-offense, General Impairment DUI?

Here are some of the consequences you may face for a second-offense DUI in Pennsylvania:

  • 12-month license suspension
  • Between 5 days and 6 months of jail time
  • A $300-$2,500 fine
  • Mandatory participation in the alcohol highway safety school
  • Mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device for one year
  • Treatment, if ordered by the courts
  • An ungraded misdemeanor

What are the penalties for a third or subsequent General Impairment DUI offense in Pennsylvania?

If this is your third or subsequent offense DUI in Pennsylvania, you cannot afford to wait. You must hire an experienced attorney as soon as you can. You are facing the following:

  • 12-month license suspension
  • Between 10 days and 2 years in prison
  • A $500-$5,000 fine
  • Treatment, if ordered by the courts
  • Mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device for one year
  • 2nd-degree misdemeanor

Contact our experienced Pennsylvania firm

A DUI charge can potentially affect you for the rest of your life. This is why if you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI, you must contact the Law Offices of Ilkhanoff & Silverstein today. Our attorneys are experienced and skilled in DUI defense. Do not let a simple mistake follow you forever. Hire a firm that is ready to fight.

Read Our Latest News and Blogs

  •  How to Sue a Drunk Driver in PennsylvaniaRead More
  •  How to Recover Compensation After a Pennsylvania Restaurant AccidentRead More
  •  Ilkhanoff & Silverstein News | Continued Education AnnouncementRead More
  •  Marijuana Laws in PennsylvaniaRead More