Memorial Day is great fun for all, including activities such as cookouts, pool parties, and more. However, it is no secret that Memorial Day also sees more drunk drivers than most other days out of the year. Of course, the best thing you can do is simply refrain from driving while under the influence of alcohol, however, if you find yourself facing a DUI, you must continue reading and reach out to our knowledgeable Pennsylvania criminal defense attorneys to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. Here are some of the questions you may have concerning DUI law in Pennsylvania:
What happens if I am charged with a DUI in Pennsylvania?
Regardless of whether this is your first-offense DUI, you will most likely face very serious penalties, which is why you cannot afford to face these charges without the legal assistance of an experienced Pennsylvania criminal defense attorney who knows how to fight them. Some of the potential consequences for a first-offense DUI in Pennsylvania are as follows:
- You may have to participate in the alcohol highway safety school
- Potential treatment ordered by the court
- An ungraded misdemeanor
- A fine of $300
- Up to 6 months of probation
What happens if I get a second DUI in Pennsylvania?
If this is your second DUI in Pennsylvania, you will now face even harsher consequences, including a significant license suspension. For a second DUI, you will face the following penalties:
- Up to 6 months of incarceration
- A potential $2,500 fine
- Mandatory participation in the alcohol highway safety school
- You will most likely have to use the ignition interlock device for 1 year
- You may be ordered by the court for treatment
- Ungraded misdemeanor
- A 12-month loss of license
What happens if this is my third DUI in Pennsylvania?
A third DUI can drastically affect your future, especially if you do not have an attorney on your side who can fight to have those charges mitigated, or, in the best cases, dropped altogether. The penalties for a third DUI in Pennsylvania are as follows:
- You may lose your license for at least 12 months
- You may face two years of incarceration
- A potential $5,000 fine
- Possible court-ordered treatment
- You may have to use the ignition interlock device for at least one year
- 2nd-degree misdemeanor
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED PENNSYLVANIA FIRM
If you have recently been charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you will need experienced legal counsel to fight for your rights. Fortunately, you have just found that legal team at the Law Offices of Ilkhanoff & Silverstein. Do not risk facing your charges alone–our firm is here to help you through the legal process, every step of the way.